nooriworld.net // official forum
nooriworld.net // official forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Administration and Announcement Forum
 Suggestions & Help Desk
 Forum does not update?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Jibran-Aslam
Junior Member

Pakistan
148 Posts

Posted - 27 December 2003 :  9:59:48 PM  Show Profile  Visit Jibran-Aslam's Homepage  
Asalam O Alaykum. For the past week I have been having this problem now. When people make a post, the forum does not update. For like 5 days in a row I saw the topics in the same order. First I thought nobody was posting here but then when I started to post 2 days ago my posts would not update either. Sometimes it says someone made the post but you do not see that person's post. You request the page but it always the same. I never had this problem before. I do not thing it has anything to do with my ISP. I am using DSL for a long time. I have been on Noori forum since Feb but never had such problem since recently. I am just wondering if you folks are also aware of this or not?

Jibran


eP - iTe
Junior Member

141 Posts

Posted - 28 December 2003 :  2:05:27 PM  Show Profile  
it doesnt happen with me

~MeSs WiTh ThE A*MiN , ScReW ThE m*ds - i Am ThE LaW HeRe~

Admin
Forum Admin

600 Posts

Posted - 28 December 2003 :  6:47:22 PM  Show Profile  

To answer your question, no it doesn't happen with anyone else...or at least it hasn't been reported or complained about before. Brainless will take a look at it.

brainlessinc
Forum Admin



Pakistan
256 Posts

Posted - 28 December 2003 :  7:11:22 PM  Show Profile  
well this kind of problem mostly happens in cable net user cuz they r requesting pages not directly from the internet but from local computer that is your cable net server .. the pages u request has been get stored in your server cache and every time u try to request a page it will show u the page that is currently in your server cache ..
so tell your cable net guy to clean up your cache everyday ..

[ BrainleSS eInsTeiN ]
tech admin

Jibran-Aslam
Junior Member

Pakistan
148 Posts

Posted - 30 December 2003 :  08:43:26 AM  Show Profile  Visit Jibran-Aslam's Homepage  
Thank you for your help. I am afraid this is not the problem though. I have already checked with Verizon, my ISP. I have been using their DSL for a long time now. This kind of problem never happened to me before. I believe Rozire has a better idea about this. I also believe it has something to do with the coding in the forum. This problem started just recently. I am not having this problem with other forums either. Besides that, sometimes I get logged on by other peoples username as well. I hope nobody posts by my user name. Khair, thank you for trying but since I have already checked with Verizon, I know it is not my DSL that is causing this problem.

Jibran

P.S. If you get more cases like this, then most probably the problem is in the forum's coding.


Rozire
Junior Member



Pakistan
60 Posts

Posted - 30 December 2003 :  4:18:21 PM  Show Profile  Visit Rozire's Homepage  
Interesting, the 'old page' problem can be because of an uncleared cache in the cable server, but i doubt that being the case here, because there is ample protection in the basic snitz code for such a problem. Also, it is highly unlikely for an ASP page such as this one to be cached, primarily because the server usually compares the two pages, checks their size etc , and only replaces (as set @ default) if the size etc is changed. the forum main page is regularly updated and this it's physical attributes change on a regular basis, thus it cannot really be a cache problem. Also geting logged on by another id, is never going to happen on an un-altered snitz forum code. Brainless, as I said earlier, this is probably a result of a recent modification in the code, check the inc_header.asp to resolve the cookie problem, my guess is that both these problems are related and their source is the same. Did you try a fresh copy of the forum in a seperate directory? if that works, replace the inc_header of this forum with the fresh one and do the necessary updates.
needless to say, make backups first :).

Jibran :
Although I'm sure the problem is server-side, but it wouldnt hurt to try to reconfigure some settings on your end :
IE 6 :
Tools> Internet Options > Temporary Internet Files > Settings > Check for newer versions of stored pages > check Every Visit To Page.
on the same tab below this :
Temp. Internet Files Folder > press view files > a folder will open with a list of files, delete them all, close the folder > Press OK > Next to settings button is Delete Cookies button, press that, press OK. close IE and start again, try accessing the forum now. hopefully everything will be arright now.

Mera Dil Lahore Main Dafan Karna .. Aur Mera Jism Jo Chaho So Karo.

brainlessinc
Forum Admin



Pakistan
256 Posts

Posted - 30 December 2003 :  9:50:45 PM  Show Profile  

rozire, thanx for handling the situation, i tried that thing .. but the result is same ....

[ BrainleSS eInsTeiN ]
tech admin

Jibran-Aslam
Junior Member

Pakistan
148 Posts

Posted - 31 December 2003 :  05:05:19 AM  Show Profile  Visit Jibran-Aslam's Homepage  
Thank you Rozire for writing in details. I took your advise and deleted the cookies but that was not the problem. But still we had to give it a shot. The problem is still there. Quite annoying too, since it never happened before. Let's see...
Thank you again guys.

Jibran


dezyre
Advanced Member



Pakistan
1036 Posts

Posted - 04 January 2004 :  7:33:16 PM  Show Profile  Visit dezyre's Homepage  Click to see dezyre's MSN Messenger address  
well it happens with me too!
but it has a much easier solution here
I just press F5 when the page refreshes I see the new topics and new posts!
I have to refresh every topic to have a look at the new posts!

[::.Shehzad.::]

Minhas
Advanced Member



Pakistan
5331 Posts

Posted - 08 January 2004 :  12:45:30 PM  Show Profile  Visit Minhas's Homepage  Click to see Minhas's MSN Messenger address  
same as dezyre, yar try using a dial up connection for a day or two then continue cable, see the results

Which By Product Of A B-i-t-c-h Farm Assumed I'm Leaving This Forum?
[ www.PakistanArmy.net www.HolyQuran.tk www.Nooristan.tk ]

whizkid
Average Member



256 Posts

Posted - 08 January 2004 :  1:12:51 PM  Show Profile  Click to see whizkid's MSN Messenger address  
try using any other browser.... like opera etc

;)

aliharry
Advanced Member



Pakistan
1032 Posts

Posted - 09 January 2004 :  01:40:17 AM  Show Profile  Click to see aliharry's MSN Messenger address  Send aliharry a Yahoo! Message  

noway forum is liv n uptodaye check out ur pc man...........
noori rocks

MerI hASi pEr na jAnA
AeY LoGON yEH CoLGate Ka jADOo HAi

Xpressionless
Senior Member



Pakistan
711 Posts

Posted - 11 March 2004 :  03:56:10 AM  Show Profile  
rozire this forum is asp based forum but it get cached on ma cable server
i use a jugari tariqa to read new posts on other php forum .. tht tariqa never worked
here on asp based forum. jibs bro when u come one main page of forum like..
http://www.nooriworld.net/forum/forum.asp?FORUM_ID=2
dont forget to change option from combo list box on right corner of the page right above forum topic list table.. u can select for xample SHOW TOPICS FROM LAST DAY.
it will reshuffle all the topics date wise and will show u new topics from last day ...
but this thing work only to c new topics ... it never worked on reading new posts on some topic.

on php forum u can try above tariqa or u can simply add '?' or '//' '\\' questions marks or slashes in the end of urls
ur browser will get the pages from server

phew!
i m having very hard time wid asp based forums wid ma cable net .

Rozire
Junior Member



Pakistan
60 Posts

Posted - 14 March 2004 :  5:37:15 PM  Show Profile  Visit Rozire's Homepage  
Ok, as I said there is cache protection in the default snitz code, however, the problem may also be server side ( the IIS configuration of the NW webserver may have Caching ALL pages on), if clearing the cookies and cache is not resolving the problem, Mahez's idea is a good one. But instead of using the combo box approach, you can simply change the URL from www.nooriworld.net to nooriworld.net , most people dont notice, but with and without the "www" prefix is not the same thing. So, if you are currently using www.noorworld.net, try using nooriworld.net .

Mera Dil Lahore Main Dafan Karna .. Aur Mera Jism Jo Chaho So Karo.

misha1
Average Member



Pakistan
333 Posts

Posted - 14 March 2004 :  10:17:26 PM  Show Profile  Visit misha1's Homepage  
Damn, I thought it was just my browser! And yes, I use Opera. Symptoms are the exact same as Jibran's, only I keep refreshing the page to view new posts.

Hell is other people.

yas3r
Advanced Member



USA
2562 Posts

Posted - 15 March 2004 :  09:57:51 AM  Show Profile  Visit yas3r's Homepage  Click to see yas3r's MSN Messenger address  
maN datz suM cookies pr0b just rel;oaD ur internet explorer auR atha wise re instaLL ur windoww...simPly...
k bye

Gg oY-----> nO waY??.... brIng me mY vIne n' drUgs n' dOps




www.rock4teens.tk www.karachikeychettey.tk

aliharry
Advanced Member



Pakistan
1032 Posts

Posted - 16 March 2004 :  07:42:21 AM  Show Profile  Click to see aliharry's MSN Messenger address  Send aliharry a Yahoo! Message  


yaar forum ka to pata nahi u should update ur pc haha

MerI hASi pEr na jAnA
AeY LoGON yEH CoLGate Ka jADOo HAi

Minhas
Advanced Member



Pakistan
5331 Posts

Posted - 18 March 2004 :  12:45:37 AM  Show Profile  Visit Minhas's Homepage  Click to see Minhas's MSN Messenger address  
i used
WOL
SATNET
HUNGAMA
BLACK PANTHER

still it shows that stupid old logo

Which By Product Of A B-i-t-c-h Farm Assumed I'm Leaving This Forum?
[ www.PakistanArmy.net www.HolyQuran.tk www.Nooristan.tk ]

Castigator
Junior Member

51 Posts

Posted - 19 March 2004 :  11:41:04 AM  Show Profile  
heh, and mine doesn't show up at all :(

"When suffering knocks at your door and you say there is no seat for him, he tells you not to worry because he has brought his own stool." - Chinua Achebe, Arrow of God

Fangs
Advanced Member



Saudi Arabia
1932 Posts

Posted - 10 May 2004 :  12:57:20 AM  Show Profile  Visit Fangs's Homepage  Click to see Fangs's MSN Messenger address  Send Fangs a Yahoo! Message  
...Hey...i have the same prob...i mean i use a dial up connection and i keep refreshing 2 view new posts.
I jus keep refreshin n refreshin ...gee...i din know refreshing aint necessary!!!

P.S..This forum does get bugged a lot!!!!

<DAREDEVIL>
<Gr8esT|NooriOlogIsT>
~15Teen Till I die~


all rights reserved

Fading ...........away

brainlessinc
Forum Admin



Pakistan
256 Posts

Posted - 12 May 2004 :  04:34:53 AM  Show Profile  
hmm !!
well try one more thing :: press ctrl+F5 !!! i'm sure it will solve your problem

[ BrainleSS eInsTeiN ]
tech admin

Paki Princess
Senior Member



523 Posts

Posted - 20 May 2004 :  8:01:31 PM  Show Profile  
after ages forum is finally working...thank God..

Aversion and attraction go together..

Jamaica Inn
Daphne Du Maurier
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
nooriworld.net // official forum © 2002-03 nooriarts. All rights reserved.
Snitz Forums 2000